Raid-de-Himalaya to start October 10, to end at Manali


Shimla: The 12th Raid-de-Himalaya Rally 2010 will be organized from 10th October to 15th October this year. The rally will be flagged off by by Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal from Peterhoff in Shimla.

The rally would cover a distance of 2500 km and will end at Manali on 15th October. The rally will pass through Shimla, Nalagarh, Solan, Manali, Kaza, Keylong, Sarchu and then will return back to Manali.

175 teams will participate in the event which is the highest this year. Teams like Thundervolt with their driver Suresh Rana, W+K Team with their driver Sunny Sidhu, champion of Moghul Rally and team of the Indian Army would also participate in the Raid.

In the X-treme Motorcycle category, Team Contiger of Austria has fielded 6 Motorcycle entrants, which also include woman biker Klaudia Honeder. Team W+K Racing’s Jonah Street, who was a Dakar 2010 top ten finisher is also participating in the event.

Due to the ongoing relief efforts at Leh the Kashmir leg of the Raid has been dropped this year and the rally will concentrate around Spiti for the most part using the rough roads around Kaza.

The Himalayan Motorsport Association, the organizers of this event would contribute towards flood relief in cash and kind once the event concludes.

The Raid-de-Himalaya rally is being organized by the Department of Youth Services and Sports in collaboration with Federation of Motor Sports Club of India and Himalaya Motor Sports.

Related Posts with Thumbnails

One Response to "Raid-de-Himalaya to start October 10, to end at Manali"

  1. Pingback: Motor Rallies | A Gimmick, Cursing Himalayan Nature

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.